War is over

In my previous post, I wrote about my excitement surrounding the release of David Fincher’s film interpretation of the late Stieg Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, namely, the ability of the single most unapproachable character’s approachability. So I shall begin this post with a miniature review of the film which I saw opening day to no one’s surprise. Though I did manage to drag along four of my friends, none of which had read the book or knew anything about the plot. Yes, we – the faithful five – contributed to the unfortunate gross of the film.

Rooney Mara was impeccable. I have yet to see the Swedish version (I have been too busy to be Netflix-lazy!), but it is waiting for me in the “Instant Queue” and I am quite looking forward to it. With that being said, I cannot fairly compare Mara’s performance to Noomi Rapace’s. I can only imagine filmmakers everywhere kicking themselves for failing to capitalize on what David Fincher saw in her. Having already seen two other films starring Mara (Youth in Revolt and The Social Network), I’m convinced she can do anything and do it well.

I was captivated and taken in by her eyes, which conveyed everything her actions didn’t, much like Lisbeth Salander in the books. Physically – with all her real piercings and synthetic tattoos, amazing hairstyle, and Goth-androgynous clothing – she is Lisbeth, as well as emotionally. Daniel Craig, who I’ve only ever had the pleasure of seeing as James Bond, was wonderful. Who knew there were acting chops behind all those fancy fighting moves? And, much to my and my cohorts’ pleasure, had clothes on as often as he had them off. The chemistry between Mara and Craig was electric and sensationally translated to screen.

Besides the excellent casting and screenplay, David Fincher really did a satisfying job from book to film. As an avid fan of the Millennium Trilogy, I am extremely pleased. I would highly recommend it to any one. There are a few minutes that are tough to digest, but remember, revenge is sweet and so gratifying to the audience. Give the box office a boost, and please do yourself an intellectual favor and skip out on the ridiculous Tom Cruise flick. Brad Bird directed or not, it’s child’s play and not worth the money.

Next, on to my holiday reading list. I’m sharing in hopes of receiving suggestions. I’m trying to read as much as I possibly can before January 15, after which time I will be forced to finish my final semester of college and will put my reading on hold until June. The following are the books I have finished, read, and/or am reading in December.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – I’m excited to see the movie (is it really worth the nominations it will receive?)

1984 by George Orwell

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (I am starting this tomorrow)

The transition from the conclusion of the Millennium Trilogy to the Southern tale of The Help was difficult and probably affected my reception of it, which was lukewarm. 1984 has picked up – until page 80 it was largely routine, but now that there’s a girl in the picture it’s a whole new world, do what you will with the pun. I’m very excited to start The Hunger Games, except for my concern that it will seem stupid to me. Something I learned at a very young age is teen fiction is a sticky category (it is NOT a genre); you never know what you will get. For every good book sucked into that swamp-like category, there are one hundred books that are complete wastes of time and brain cells (Twilight, anyone?). But the movie trailer intrigued me, I promised my Fuse girls I would read it, and everyone is talking about it (though I typically differ in literary taste from “everyone”). Nevertheless, I will read it. If I like it, there will undoubtedly be a post.

Finally, I’d like to address something very near to me at this moment in my life: the law school admissions process. Every aspect of this process causes my skin to break out and my body to tense up with worry. I have tried everything to cure these symptoms: prayer, nonchalance, openness, talking it out, more prayer, pretending I am the only person who does not have to go through this process (surely someone will offer me a spot without me having to apply). Some of the remedies work, but only temporarily. My biggest issue that is under my control – the personal statement – is the hardest element of the application to find any concrete information on. How long can it be? What should I talk about? Why is my life so boring? What are my competition writing about? Why are these statements necessary? (My guess: to appear to keep discriminatory practices at bay.) It is for this reason that I am going to post my personal statement (one of them), LSAT score, GPA, schools I applied to and schools to which I was granted admittance as soon as the information becomes available to me. In my research of personal statements, I found what was most helpful was a random discussion board filled with posts like the one I described above.

With this, I bid you adieu. The New Year is almost upon us!

P.S. The post title is a reference to the John Lennon song, not the recent political movements.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

