New York, quit calling. New York, leave me be.

In case you haven’t noticed, New York City is my absolute favorite place to be with my bed pulling a close second. Since the 2011-2012 year has been a big one for our family, we decided to celebrate by heading up to the Big Apple© for a long weekend. It was certainly a trip of firsts for us, as we made a conscious effort to do less touristy (yet still touristy) things. To start, we flew Delta instead of Spirit – a change I hope to keep – and stayed the furthest away from Times Square we ever have (!).

I loved all of these changes, but my parents may have felt differently. We arrived at La Guardia at 8 am Friday morning and headed to Central Park immediately after checking in at our hotel. Our journey, however, was sidetracked as we were famished after walking 20 blocks, so we stopped at Shake Shack. Cheesy? Yes. Delicious? Of course! This was mine and my mother’s second experience at Shake Shack, but my dad’s first! He was sold.

   

A couple of street shots taken whilst on our lunch break.

We headed to the Delacorte Theatre in CP to wait in line for tickets to see the Public Theater’s summer production of Into the Woods (this being 85% of the reason for our trip). Alas, we were one person away from tickets! We returned Saturday morning and had better luck, but before then…. Our time consisted mostly of food.

    

From left: artsy lake shot in CP; a small chunk of the line to get into the woods.

That evening I experienced the best margarita of my life at Rosa Mexicano, and also visited the biggest candy store I’ve seen to date – Dylan’s Candy Bar. It was so overwhelming that I did not, in fact, purchase anything.

Saturday morning we returned to CP and received three tickets to that evening’s performance of Into the Woods. We had a few hours to kill before the show, so we visited Chelsea. I was sold the minute we exited the subway, but each additional minute only fostered more love between us. We ate lunch at the Chelsea Market and sat on the High Line, also a first.

An apartment building I was enamored with en route to the market.

Typical High Line shot.

Charleston-style housing, no? No. Okay then…

We took a scenic tour through Chelsea en route to SoHo, bought entirely too many cupcakes from my favorite bakery – Georgetown Cupcake – and headed back to the hotel.

Into the Woods was absolutely amazing. I was in a junior production of the show with the community theater five years ago and did not enjoy it. The only reason I wanted  to see it in CP was because Amy Adams is starring as the Baker’s Wife. I was pleasantly surprised again and again after each number how much I enjoyed it. It was fast-paced, witty, and innovative. If you have the opportunity to see it before it closes on September 1, I would highly recommend it; it is certainly worth the five-hour wait.

On Sunday we spent all of our time in the Theatre District perusing the local street festival, where I bought some fun canine-themed NY prints.

    

The two prints I bought miniatures of. Images courtesy of Pinky Pilots.

We caught the matinée of The Lion King, which my family thoroughly enjoyed. A Broadway classic, if there ever was one. First time picking a Broadway show? You will always be safe with a Disney production. I have seen four musicals now, and each of them has been pure joy to watch, and  has encompassed the magical quality that only Disney can provide.

Enough about Disney. Let’s (i.e. let me) write about food. I consumed mass amounts of it while in the city. Most notably, Tony’s DiNapoli. Our family stumbled upon this restaurant per a recommendation from the concierge during our 2007 trip. We have made a point to eat there every trip since then. Sunday night was no exception. We went all out: fried zucchini, sangria, chicken stuffed with all kinds of deliciousness and smothered in mushrooms, with eggplant and mozzarella pasta, and fresh bread. Ciao to my waistline! But, my, oh my, was it worth it.

Monday was our last day in the city, so we took it slow. We headed toward 5th Avenue where we, of course, ate. This occasion brought us to YoArt at the Plaza. I felt rather fancy (said in my best Eloise voice)! It was delicious. I also bought a pair of “Wellies” I’ve had my eye on for about a year at Saks, which is always an overwhelming trip for us commoners. I also grabbed lunch with one of my college friends who is working there for an internship – talk about fancy!

Photo courtesy of Laura.

If you’d like to see a photo entry of my trip, please visit my Tumblr. Just be aware that it is under construction and, therefore, will not be very aesthetically pleasing. Also, I plan on composing another post entirely about Into the Woods. I’m not finished gushing quite yet. Finally, here is a link to the Avett Brothers song that inspired this post’s title.

1 comment
  1. Jill said:

    I like the pictures you purchased of Puppy and Elphie (Sporty and Posh). I’m glad you and Laura got to see each other!! You know you liked ITW when we were in it 🙂 I’m so jealous that you saw Amy Adams live.

Leave a Reply

